Santa Monica Twilight

I do love sunsets.  But the best time to hang out in Santa Monica is during twilight.  I shot with my beast and a 50mm f/1.4 prime.  I set the ISO at 1600 using two aperture settings–2.0 and 5.6.  I used whatever was stable to rest the camera for long exposures with f/5.6.  Then with an f/2.0 aperture and setting my shutter to 1/60, I braced my elbows for hand-held shots.

Santa Monica in December

Santa Monica in December

Santa Monica in December

Santa Monica in December

Santa Monica in December

10 thoughts on “Santa Monica Twilight

    1. I thought about using hyper focal, but I was in a hurry. Setting it up would have me set up a tripod and shutter cable. Zone focusing would have been the way to go, but I was lazy. Here’s a link of something I should have considered before leaving: http://tinyurl.com/5fdvy But you’re right about the difficulty of an open aperture and DOF. My weakness was not being more prepared. Thank you for making me more aware. I totally appreciate it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Some old lenses have imperfections that adds more character to the snap. I have a collection of Ai lenses that I’ll use from time to time with my Beast. Manual focus with Ai lenses makes it easy to apply zone focusing which works best for street photography. I should try using hyper-focal the next time I’m out. Thanks, man.

        Like

Comments are closed.