Film grain

What I love about shooting with film is the grain.  There is magic in shooting with film, but part of that magic is the film grain and how it formulates itself within the image.  I have two examples of two types of film.

early morning watching century city glow at dawnThis is Kodak Tri-X 400 shot with my Nikon F4 with a 85mm f/1.8 D lens.  The grain was so generous in not interfering with details of the image.

the girl wearing white boots walks by a transient enjoying a cigarette

With this snap I used Fuji Neopan 1600 with my Contax G2  and 45mm f/2.8 Zeiss lens.  The grain was so beautiful as if painted on the image. To me it was very musical.  I really miss Fuji Neopan 1600 film.  If you come across this film, use it.  You won’t be disappointed.

 

2 thoughts on “Film grain

Comments are closed.