Fun with Hasselblad

I should call it Hasselblast!  It is fun shooting with a medium format, manual focus, waist level finder film camera.  It’s even more challenging using a hand-held exposure meter because with a Hasselblad 500C/M there is no built-in metering.  I used Kodak Tri-X 320 film with an 80mm f/2.8 Carl Zeiss lens.

Venice skateboard park in Venice California

What better place to take snaps with an all manual camera than the Venice Skateboard Park.

Venice skateboard park in Venice California

Some serious acrobatics on my part to meter, focus, shoot, wind and ready for the next shot.

Venice skateboard park in Venice California

Overall, it was a great experience for me.

Venice skateboard park in Venice California

After the last shot of the roll, it would be a couple of days before I head back to the lab and see the results.   I highly recommend shooting with film.

7 thoughts on “Fun with Hasselblad

    1. If vinyl’s comeback is such a big deal, why not film. It’ll last longer and comes in two flavors, color and black & white. HA!

      Like

  1. You are preaching to the choir! I enjoy shooting film. I plan to purchase a medium format camera in the future. I use my hand held meter the majority of the time when shooting my OM1. I can do spot, incident and it has reflective attachment that sees roughly what a normal lens would see. Nice pictures!

    Like

    1. Olympus OM model film cameras have the best center-weighted meters alive. I have both OM-1 and OM-2n…I do favor the OM-2n as I get the best results shooting with transparency film where I’ll drop it a 1/2 stop on the meter. Gee now I’m wanting to break out my OM-2n and wander around with a fresh roll. Thanks!

      Like

Comments are closed.