Tale of two tunnels

I was in downtown Los Angeles visiting some of my favorite photo sites.  The 2nd Street underpass is a uniquely designed tunnel built in 1924.  The ornate side of the tunnel is on Figueroa Street and ends on Hill Street as the length runs under Bunker Hill.

famous 2nd street tunnel beneath Bunker Hill in downtown Los Angeles

I shot the above image with my Fujifilm X100 digital camera.  Where the image below I shot using my Contax G2 35mm rangefinder with 45mm f/2.8 Carl Zeiss lens using Fuji Acros 400 ISO B/W film.

this is the film version of the underpass on 2nd street in downtown Los Angeles, CA

2 thoughts on “Tale of two tunnels

  1. Interesting comparison. The film shot does look nice, but there is quite a bit of difference in the exposure. Were these taken at different times of day? I wonder if it would be possible to get something closer to the film look with the X100.

    Like

Comments are closed.