Shooting with Film

I do own a couple of digital cameras.  But film is still the elixir that makes photography fun, exciting and unpredictable.  I’m not saying shooting with film will make your images magical. With film you have to work a little harder, plan a bit more, choose your opportunity, and anticipate the moment to release the shutter.

standing on the walking over Figueroa Blvd in downtown LAI took this snap with my Fujifilm X100.  This camera is quite the workhorse for me.  I can snap many images and see the results instantaneously.  Giving me results that are pristine.

overpass on Figueroa Street downtown LA

This image I took with my trusty Olympus OM-2n with a 200mm f/4.0 lens using Fujifilm Acros 1600 ISO B/W Film.  How warm, how pleasingly detailed it looks to me.  For me, this is magic.

If you are shooting with film, keep at it.  Don’t worry.  Digital snappers will catch up.

 

6 thoughts on “Shooting with Film

  1. I have come off digital and find I have a love, hate frustration with film. It reminds you how hard photography is. I have gained a genuine appreciation to the art form and its pioneers.

    Like

    1. HA! I hear what you’re saying. There are no such things as a bad photograph with film…the worse it looks, the more arty it becomes. I take my time shooting with film, sometimes to the point of coming home with only 2 to 3 exposures. I don’t think that means we are not creative, it means we are more selective. I like your collection of work.

      Like

      1. I still get a bit trigger happy when I shoot with my canonet when there is a scene I quite like. But I find that depends on my mood. I struggle with the 40mm focal length of the canonet as I am used to shooting with a 50mm on an APSC sensor 600d. I enjoy your work and insight and look forward to seeing more of your vision 🙂

        Like

      2. For me the difference between focal lengths, is aesthetic regarding proximity. Technically we can do the math. However, to some degree in full frame (35mm in this case) using a 40mm lens does impose an intimacy with your subject. Where as with an APS-C’s crop factor (usually 1.5x) using a 50mm lens allows some distance and in some ways anonymity. Have you tried Zone Focusing with your rangefinder? Set your focus at about six feet (or 2 meters) with an aperture of say, F/8.0 – F/11.0 depending on the day with moderately fast film (400 ISO)-remember to adjust your shutter accordingly. Getting close to the subject and having to hold up your camera to focus sometimes will blow your cover. But holding your camera either waist high, or cradled in your arms, may give you surprising results, if not a whole different perspective to your images. I do this method from time to time when I need to go out, but have no idea why, or what to photograph. But once you get into this ritual, you can be assured the results will be satisfying. Thank you for your kind comments.

        Like

  2. I could not agree with you more. I posted a similar blog last week. I’m a better photographer when I am shooting film. As I state in my post, you are forced to use the fundamentals of photography and this bleeds over into my digital work.

    Like

    1. I think when we start shooting with film we gain a greater appreciation for the basics of photography. Eventually, we expand that experience into an art form, still yearning to learn more and to push those limits of concepts and expression. I’m still learning, and still pushing. Thank you.

      Like

Comments are closed.